**PRESS RELEASE:** The Academic Resilience Consortium (ARC) is pleased to announce the election of the following members to its inaugural Leadership Council:

## **Steering Committee**

Chair: Karen Oehme, Florida State University
Vice Chair: Amber Douglas, Mount Holyoke College
Treasurer: Judit Torok, Director, Pratt Institute
Secretary: Margaret Mbindyo, Millersville University

## Leadership Council

(Professional): Caroline Umeda, Dominican University of California; Jennifer Cara Bokaer-Smith, Cornell University; Jessica Bacal, Smith College; Jessica Gifford, Well Student; Josh Eyler, University of Mississippi; Laura Johnson, Boston University; Myrna Cohen, University of Pennsylvania; Paul Furtaw, Rowan University; Tayyab Rashid, University of Toronto Scarborough. (Student): Ashley Hufnagle, University of Minnesota Twin Cities; Tyheem Cooper, Indiana State University.

The <u>ARC</u> is an association of faculty, staff, and students in higher education dedicated

to understanding and promoting student resilience. It currently includes 600 members

from 360+ schools in 45 US states and 17 countries, who support one another to

improve programming and pedagogy and to remove systemic barriers to student

success. The ARC was founded as an informal consortium in 2014 and established as

a nonprofit program under the fiscal sponsorship of Community Initiatives in 2020. The

outgoing Steering Committee states, "The academic resilience of our students and

institutions in higher education has never been more important than it is today. We are

delighted to welcome these exceptional colleagues to the leadership of the ARC. Their

vision, experience, and dedication will ensure that the ARC continues to develop as an

essential resource for student resilience in higher education."

For more information contact hello@academicresilience.org